U.S. Transport Task Force Workshop - Annapolis, Maryland
April 13-16, 2010

Purpose of the Meeting

The ultimate goal of the work of the Transport Task Force is a predictive understanding of plasma transport leading, in the end, to transport control. As we have pointed out previously, to achieve success in transport science, it is essential to characterize local fluctuations and transport in toroidal plasma, to understand the basic mechanisms responsible for transport, and ultimately, to control these transport processes. These goals must be pursued in multiple areas, including ion thermal transport, electron thermal transport, particle transport, momentum transport, and the physics of the H mode and edge pedestal. Demonstrating our understanding requires multiple, successful, quantitative tests of theory, simulation and modelling using experiments in fusion-relevant and basic plasmas.

Meeting Format

This year, the TTF Workshop will consist of:

i.) Special Plenary Topical Contributed Sessions
ii.) Working Group Sessions
iii.) Posters

This year we plan to hold two special interdisciplinary plenary contributed sessions. The topics of these sessions are H-Mode Pedestal Physics and General Aspects of Transport in 3D Systems.

The topics of the Working Group Sessions are Momentum and Particle Transport, Edge Transport and L-H Transition Physics, Core Transport Physics, Energetic Particle Transport and Validation and Verification. There will be two poster sessions. Refer to the Workshop Topics link for further details.

TTF Executive Committee

Patrick H. Diamond (Chair) phd@mamacass.ucsd.edu
Stanley Kaye (Vice-Chair) skaye@pppl.gov
Boris Breizman breizman@mail.utexas.edu
C.S. Chang cschang@cims.nyu.edu
Punit Gohil gohil@fusion.gat.com

N. N. Gorelenkov ngorelen@pppl.gov
Richard Groebner groebner@fusion.gat.com
T.S. Hahm tshahm@pppl.gov
William Heidbrink bill.heidbrink@uci.edu
Rajesh Maingi rmaingi@pppl.gov
George McKee mckee@fusion.gat.com
David Newman ffden@uaf.edu
John Rice rice@psfc.mit.edu
Raul Sanchez sanchezferlr@ornl.gov
Paul Terry pwterry@wisc.edu

Conference Organization

Conference Chairman

Patrick H. Diamond
University of California, San Diego
CASS 0424 SERF 436
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0424 USA
Phone: 858-534-4025
Fax: 858-534-0177
Email: phd@mamacass.ucsd.edu

Conference Organizers

Stephanie A. Conover
University of California, San Diego
CASS 0424 SERF 324
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0424 USA
Phone: 858-534-7165
Fax: 858-534-0177
Email: sconover@ucsd.edu

Punit Gohil
General Atomics
Mail Stop 13-461
P.O. Box 85608
San Diego, CA 92186-5608 USA
Phone: 858-455-4191
Fax: 858-455-4156
email: gohil@fusion.gat.com



Registration is Now Open Click HERE.

Conference Program

The Conference Program is now available.

Abstract Submission

Abstract Submission is now closed!

Hotel Reservations

Hotel Reservations Open Click Here.

Web Release Form

Please click HERE to download the presentation web release form.

Wine & Cheese Reception/Registration

Monday, April 12 6-8 PM

Satellite Meetings

The draft agenda for the ECC Meeting is now available.




TTF 2011
April 6-9, 2011
Bahia Resort Hotel, San Diego, CA USA

Questions - contact Stanley M. Kaye, PPPL